This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Find out more about how we use cookies and how to manage them by reading our cookie notice.


About Us

View past captains and chairmen here. 

The PGA in England (Midlands) has more than 800 PGA Professionals serving the needs of clubs and golfers across the counties of Derbyshire, Leicestershire & Rutland, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Shropshire, Herefordshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, West Midlands and Worcestershire.

With some 350 clubs in the region together with players at driving ranges and customers at retail golfing outlets and fitting centres – PGA Members in the region have a potential reach of some 400,000 golfers.

History records that the Midlands Professional Golf Club (later the Midlands Golf Association) was the first professional golfing body to hold a regional tournament and was expressly formed for that purpose in 1897. The Midland Professional Championship was first won in 1897 by Tom Williamson, renowned professional at Notts Golf Club (Hollinwell) and the legendary Harry Vardon’s foursomes partner. He was also captain of the English International Golf Team and setter of a world record by playing in every Open from 1897 to 1947. Midlands professionals still compete annually in this event – the oldest professional event in the world.

At their Annual General Meeting on 25 March 1902 the Midlanders amalgamated with the PGA and became its Midlands Section with 37 members.

In addition to the major professional tournaments that make up the Region’s annual Order of Merit series, The PGA in England (Midlands) runs many Pro-Ams at home and overseas and bespoke corporate golf days for renowned clients.

Our Pro-Am days give local businesses the opportunity to offer something different to their clients - an unequalled golfing experience for the amateur or business golfer on many of the regions’ famous courses including The Brabazon, Woodhall Spa, Forest of Arden and Little Aston and on courses designed by famous course architects such as J H Taylor (Stratford on Avon), James Braid and John Stutt (Peterborough Milton) and Harry Colt (Ladbrook Park). With time to chat between holes and in the clubhouse, golf is a sociable way for you to meet new people and connect with colleagues, management and potential business leads – as well as with friends and family.

The Midlands has been home over the years to many famous names, both players and coaches. Ryder Cup players Peter Baker, David Gilford, Paul Broadhurst, Brian Waites, Maurice Bembridge, Hugh Boyle, Peter Butler, Ralph Moffitt, Arthur Lees, Charlie Ward and Jack Hargreaves are all PGA Professionals from the Midlands.

Other notable current and former European Tour/Senior European Tour players who hail from the region are Robert Rock, Andrew Hare, Simon Lilly, Mark Mouland, Paul Streeter, Greg Owen, Paul Wesselingh, Mike Gallagher and Tony Charnley.

In addition to players the Midlands has notable coaches working in all areas of golf with coaches such as PGA Master Professionals Gary Alliss and Keith Williams. Chris Miller is also well known for working with elite players while Craig Thomas has done much to increase the awareness of disability golf coaching.

The region has also seen many notable PGA Assistants with the Midlands Assistant Professional Championship trophy, played for since 1929, featuring an array of past winners including Charlie Ward, Bernard Hunt, Peter Butler, Maurice Bembridge, Phil Weaver, Robert Rock and Paul Streeter.


Year Name Represents
2018 Noel Woodman Kidderminster
2017 Keith Williams Hawkstone Park
2016 Barrie Stevens  Beau Desert 
2015  Rodney Holt  Silverstone 
2014  Ian Walley  Kedleston Park 
2013  Phillip Edwards  Phil Edwards Golf 
2012  David Clark  Birstall 
2011  Daniel Greenwood Forest Pines 
2010  Cameron Clark  Moor Hall 
2009  Finlay Clark  Blackwell 
2008  Paul Wesselingh  Kedleston Park 
2007  Robert Macey  Ramsdale Park 
2006  Brian Rimmer  Little Aston 
2005  David Mee  Longcliffe 
2004  Henry Bareham  Collingtree Park 
2003  Simon Wordsworth  The Belfry 
2002  David Edwards  Forest Pines 
2001  David J Russell  Kedleston Park 
2000  Iain Clark  Hagley 
1999  Stephen Russell  Worfield 
1998  Shane Rose  Cold Ashby 
1997  Brian Mudge  Overstone Park 
1996  David Ridley  Coxmoor 
1995  Ashley Carter  Lincoln 
1994  Gary Stafford  Burton on Trent 
1993  Graham Farr  Telford 
1992  Tim Rouse  Northants County 
1991  John Lower  Wollaton Park 
1990  David Dunk  Whitelakes Leisure 
1989  Stuart Brown  Northants County 
1988  Angus Dow  Stoke Rochford 
1987  Bob Larratt  Glen Gorse 
1986  Tim Giles  Kingsthorpe 
1985  Willie Bird  Chevin 
1984  Brian Janes  Bloxwich 
1983  Neil Selwyn-Smith  Edgbaston 
1982  Reg Cox  Gog Magog 
1981  Bernard Prestom  Lickey Hills 
1980  Bill Firkins  Stourbridge 
1979  Jim Rhodes  South Staffs 
1978  Richard Lambert  Walsall 
1977-76 John Wiggett  Kings Norton 
1975  Ron Hinton  Enville 
1974  Mike Skerritt  Walmley 
1973  Les Ball  Stratford on Avon 
1972  Les Thompson  Shirley 
1971  Ted Large  South Staffs 
1970-69 Norman McDonald  Moor Hall 
1968  Jack McMillan  Copt Heath 
1967-66  Ron Moses  Worcester 
1965  Jack Hargreaves  Sutton Coldfield 


Year Name
2014- Craig Phillips 
2004-14 Tim Rouse
1998-2003 Angus Dow 
1994-97  Jim Rhodes 
1990-93 Angus Dow 
1988-90  Tim Rouse 
1988  Tim Giles 
1985-88  Phil Weaver 
1984  Norman McDonald 
1983  Neil Selwyn-Smith 
1979-82  Richard Lambert 
1977-78  John Carter 
1976-77  Jack Hargreaves 
1974-76  Norman McDonald 
1960-74  George Robins 
1949-59  W Button 
1919-49  GV Tuck 
1902-1913 WP Lewis 
1901-02  CH Wingate 
1899-1901  LG Ross 
1898-99  D Brown 
Regional News
More Regional news