This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Find out more about how we use cookies and how to manage them by reading our cookie notice.


Lundberg wins season finale in tense finish

01 Nov 19

Lundberg Winner

Mikael Lundberg has won the PGA EuroPro Tour Championships 2019 at Desert Springs after going through a playoff against James Allan three times. 

Lundberg (Lumine Golf Club) clinched the Order of Merit title with victory in his first season on the Tour. The Swede signed for rounds of 64, 73 and 69 to force a playoff after leading after the opening day. 

Lundberg commented: "This is just amazing. It's something you dream of. It's not something you can really predict. You are hoping for it and it's at the back of your mind. But the guys are too good. Once you get to this level you realise they're pretty good.

"But someone has to win it and when I pulled it off and when I play my game at my best I can still compete against them." 

In a day where the lead swung, James Allan seized an early advantage through nine holes before being pegged back midway through the afternoon after getting in trouble on eleven. 

Meanwhile, Lundberg was level through the front nine to trail by a few before picking up vital birdies on 15 and 16 to drag out a two-shot lead Allan who was a group back. 

Allan (Chelmsford Golf Club) showed resilience throughout after going into the day leading. He knew he had to birdie 17 and 18 to force a playoff and that's exactly what he achieved. 

The Playoff

The playoff took place on the last with both Allan and Lundberg going toe to toe over the first two times before the third. In the third, Lundberg found the bunker on the green but played an exquisite shot to leave himself a few feet. Allan missed opening the door for the former European Tour winner to seal the win. 

The Order of Merit 2019 

The PGA EuroPro Tour Order of Merit is confirmed as the following players securing Challenge Tour cards for next season. Subject to change based on the European Tour Q School final stages where all of the below will be competing next week. 

  • Mikael Lundberg
  • Richard Mansell
  • Marco Penge
  • Alfie Plant 
  • Todd Clements
Regional News
More Regional news