This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Find out more about how we use cookies and how to manage them by reading our cookie notice.


About the Championship

The PGA Fourball Championship has always been one of the most popular events for club professionals and returned to the schedule after an 11 year gap in 2005.

The championship has always gone down well with pros enjoying the more relaxed atmosphere of the fourball format, but with a significant prize fund, the event also carries a keen competitive edge.

The first ever staging of the championship in 1984 saw two of the North West's finest clubs finish in a tie as Royal Birkdale's Philip Posnett and Peter Hanna and Hillside's Denis Durnian and Derrick Cooper ended all square.

Sol Golf's five year sponsorship saw the event thrive during the late 80's but that agreement concluded in 1991 when East Sussex National duo Mike Deeley and Spencer Edwards were the victors.

Back briefly for one year in 1994 when Stock Brook Manor's Steve Cipa and The Warren's Clive Tucker triumphed, the championship then disappeared off the radar until 2005.

SkyCaddie, the PGA's official distance measuring device, took over the title sponsorship from Glenbrae in 2008, with Sunderland becoming support sponsor, and they enjoyed a highly successful two-year relationship with the tournament.

In 2010 the championship welcomed a new sponsor in Skins, the Australian manufacturer of performance-enhancing sportswear who signed a three-year sponsorship deal to support the event.

PGA partner  assumed title sponsorship in 2013 and the tournament moved to St Mellion resort in 2014 with players competing over the Jack Nicklaus' signature course.

Regional News
More Regional news