This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Find out more about how we use cookies and how to manage them by reading our cookie notice.


Santos wins at TPC Sawgrass

08 Apr 19

Craig Ricardo With Trophy

Former European Tour player Ricardo Santos won the prestigious Sawgrass Classic Pro-Am at TPC Sawgrass just six days after The PGA Tour’s PLAYERS Championship.

Many of the competitors watched the final round of Rory McIlroy’s one-shot victory over the iconic Stadium Course before playing one of the most prestigious venues in golf. 

After practice rounds on the Monday, the 72-hole Sawgrass Classic Pro-Am was played over three superb courses in the Ponte Vedra Beach area with the final round at The PLAYERS Stadium Course. 

The Dye Valley Course staged the opening round with Jason Levermore and Jason Kelly both shooting one-under-par scores of 71 to leave them two shots clear of the field.

Round two saw five more PGA Professionals break par with Levermore extending his lead by shooting 67, a score matched by Clevedon Golf Club’s Ashley Mansell.  

Gorgeous conditions were in place for the next round at the King & Bear Course where Portugal’s Ricardo Santos continued his consistent golf with a 69, which was enough for a tie of the lead with Levermore heading into the final round.

Ricardo At TPC 18

The finale was staged at the challenging PLAYERS Stadium Course with the grandstands still in place.

Jason Kelly set the pace early on with a fantastic 67, however the standout round  went to Morley Hayes’ James Whatey with a six-under-par 66, which included five birdies from the final six holes.

Four players were in contention on the final day, including 2017 champion Paul Nessling, but it was Santos' steady golf which saw him claim the win with a four-under-par 68, finishing four shots ahead of Levermore.

The Pro-Am team event was won by James Davies’ team of Colin Aymes, Dave Thomas and Bob Grovestock-Thompson.

The Sawgrass Classic Pro-Am returns next year (March 16-22) following the completetion of the 2020 PLAYERS Championship. For more information and to find out more about Pro-Am Tour events organised by The American Golf Holiday, click here.

Regional News
More Regional news