Irish PGA Championship

The Irish PGA Championship

The Irish PGA Professional Championship is the Emerald Isle’s old professional golf tournament which dates back to 1907. The tournament is peppered with great names who have all won the trophy during its history.

Championship Information

The Irish PGA Championship is open to any PGA Member, Affiliated Members and Assistants resident in Ireland who is attached to a golf facility or any Irish-born PGA Professional, either by qualifying or exemption.

The Championship is a 54-hole stroke-play event with 18 holes each day. The field of 102 players will be cut to 50.

Entering the Tournament

Locations, dates, entry fees, prize funds, qualifying criteria and more.

Enter now


The 2021 Irish PGA Championship will be held TBC.

Past Winners

Full list of Irish PGA Championship winners since 1907.

Past Winners

About the Championship

Blessed with some of the world's finest golf courses, Ireland can also bask in a golfing heritage to match highlighted by the Irish PGA Championship - the Emerald Isle's oldest professional golf tournament which dates back to 1907.

Christy O'Connor and Harry Bradshaw top the honours board having each claimed the title 10 times. More recently Des Smyth has notched up six victories and the two-time Ryder Cup player is the only man to capture the trophy in four separate decades.

In 2003 at Adare Manor, Paul McGinley marched to victory making him the first player to successfully defend the trophy since Smyth won at Waterville in 1986.

Fellow Ryder Cup Captain Padraig Harrington emulated McGinley's achievement by retaining the title in 2005 at Palmerstown House, having won the previous year at St Margaret's. Harrington lifted his first Irish title at Powerscourt in 1998.

In recent years Niall Kearney has been the dominant force winning back to back titles in 2014 & 15.


About the Championship

Irish PGA Championship news

Our Partners

  • Air IT
  • Banyan Tree
  • The Belfry
  • Coca-Cola
  • EVC
  • FootJoy
  • Gleneagles
  • PING
  • St. James's Place
  • Therabody
  • Titleist