The PGA Cup was first played in 1973 and is a biennial contest between the PGA of Great Britain & Ireland and America.

The event is seen as the pinnacle for any PGA Professional as both teams go head-to-head in a Ryder Cup format to win The Llandudno International Trophy.

Championship Information

There are 10 players that qualify for the Great Britain & Ireland Team. The top six from the 2023/24 PGA Professional Championship points list over a two year counting period will join the top three from the 2024 PGA Play-Offs.

The final place on the team is decided by a ‘captain’s pick’


2024 Eligibility Criteria

Teams are ten players per side. Find out how you can be part of the team.

Find out more

Latest Rankings

See who's leading the race to be part of the next PGA Cup team.

Latest Rankings

Record Book

Details on past captains, GB&I playing records and match results from 1973.

Record Book

2022 Great Britain & Ireland Team

DJ Russell will lead the Great Britain & Ireland team as Captain and has selected his son, Chris, as his Vice-Captain for the 2022 matches at Foxhills Club & Resort in Surrey.

Greig Hutcheon, Adam Keogh and Simon Thornton were the first three players to qualify for the GB&I team after finishing in the top three at the PGA Play-Offs held at Slieve Russell Golf & Country Club in Ireland back in April.

Another five players were confirmed following the completion of the PGA Professional Championship at Slaley Hall in June, with Matthew Cort, David Higgins, Simon Lilly, Ashley Mansell and Daniel-Whitby-Smith all making the team. 

DJ Russell finalised GB&I side with two 'Captain's Picks' that went to Paul McKechnie and James Ruth.

DJ Russell (Captain)

Chris Russell (Vice-Captain)

Greig Hutcheon

Adam Keogh

Simon Thornton

Matthew Cort

David Higgins

Simon Lilly

Ashley Mansell

Daniel Whitby-Smith

Paul McKechnie

James Ruth

PGA Cup News

Photos from the 2022 PGA Cup

Check out our photo galleries from each day of the 2022 PGA Cup at Foxhills Club & Resort in Surrey.

Matchday three

View photos

Matchday two

View photos

Matchday one

View images

Practice day four

View images

Practice day three

View images

Practice day two

View images

Practice day one

View images

About the Championship

The PGA Cup was first played in 1973 and is a biennial contest between the Professional Golfers' Associations of Great Britain & Ireland (PGA) and America (PGA of America).

The matches are identical to the Ryder Cup format with foursomes, fourballs and singles.

The winning team retains possession of the Llandudno International Trophy. The trophy was the idea of members of Maesdu Golf Club in Llandudno Conwy County, Wales.

The PGA of America are the current holders of the Llandudno Trophy after winning a thrilling contest 15.5 - 10.5 at Foxhills Club & Resort in Surrey. The American have also won the contest most with 19 wins compared to Great Britain & Ireland's seven victories, with four ties.

The next PGA Cup matches are due to take place in America in 2024.

About the Championship

PGA Cup History

The matches were first played in 1973 at Pinehurst Country Club, North Carolina, as an outgrowth of the PGA Club Professional Championship.

The competition was held annually until 1984 when both countries agreed to hold it biennially at alternating sites. The teams began with nine players, but the rosters were expanded to 10 in 1988.

GB&I notched their first PGA Cup win 1978 with a 10½ - 6½ victory at St Mellion, but overall the history books make grim reading from a British and Irish standpoint with the Americans winning 18 times compared t0 GB&I’s seven, while there have been four draws.

CLICK HERE to read more about the history of The PGA Cup.


PGA Cup History

Our Partners

  • Air IT
  • Banyan Tree
  • The Belfry
  • Coca-Cola
  • EVC
  • FootJoy
  • Gleneagles
  • PING
  • St. James's Place
  • Therabody
  • Titleist