PGA Professional Championship

The PGA Professional Championship

The PGA Professional Championship is seen as the Association's premier event and was first played in 1973.

This year's tournament will be played at Conwy Golf Club.

Championship information

For 2024, The PGA Professional Championship consists of a field of 144 players who compete across four rounds in a strokeplay format.

The 2024 PGA Professional Championship will be played at Conwy Golf Club on June 11-14, and carries a total prize fund of £80,000.

The Championship has added significance because through a points system it decides the Great Britain & Ireland team to play America in the PGA Cup which is the club professional's equivalent of the Ryder Cup. Since 2013, the winner and runner up have also earned entry to the PGA Play-Offs.

Entering the Tournament

Information and how to enter.

View more

Championship Information

Locations, dates, entry fees, prize funds and more

View more


The 2024 Championship will be played at Conwy Golf Club.

Find out more

Past Winners

Full list of past champions from 1973.

View more

About the Championship

In the early 70's, The PGA was juggling the demands of its traditional club pros with a new breed of tournament player led by the likes of Tony Jacklin and Peter Oosterhuis who competed full time.

During this period many pros, outside of the superstars like Jacklin, still combined club duties with playing, pitching up for Monday qualifying and if successful competing, before returning to the club shop for weekend duties.

At this point the fledgling European circuit, the forerunner of the European Tour, was going from strength to strength, buoyed by increasing sponsorship and the attraction of ever bigger crowds.

Simultaneously The PGA was also continuing to maintain its tradition of providing both regional and national playing opportunities for all members and this included the launch of the PGA Professional Championship.

About the Championship

PGA Professional Championship news

Our Partners

  • Air IT
  • Banyan Tree
  • The Belfry
  • Coca-Cola
  • EVC
  • FootJoy
  • Gleneagles
  • PING
  • St. James's Place
  • Therabody
  • Titleist