Captain-elect Sarah adds sparkle to WPGA Series with silver trophy donation

Captain-elect Sarah adds sparkle to WPGA Series with silver trophy donation


PGA Captain-elect Sarah Bennett has further enhanced the prestige of the WPGA Series by donating a trophy that will be played for annually and presented to the winner.

The introduction of the Sarah Bennett Trophy, upon which the Series winner’s name will be engraved, is the latest move to boost playing opportunities and improve the competition for the WPGA membership.

It follows the introduction of OCEANTEE as sponsors, a doubling of the prize money, and the WPGA committee’s revamped schedule of events and choice of venues.

The trophy, a silver-plated salver, has been commissioned and donated by Bennett to commemorate her appointment as PGA Captain.

Bennett will begin her year in office when she succeeds Bernard Gallacher next April and the battle to win the trophy for the first time will take place in the subsequent OCEANTEE WPGA Series.

Commenting on her generous gesture, Bennett explained: “This is something I’ve been thinking about since I was told about the captaincy.

“I am delighted with the trophy and would like to thank The PGA’s David Wright for his expertise and help in sourcing it.

“The trophy will be presented to the winner of the WPGA Series during the final event on the schedule – the Vivien Saunders Fourball – and I urge our members to support it and give the season a memorable send-off.

“The Vivien Saunders Fourball has a trophy to play for and so does the WPGA Championship, but the WPGA Series has never had one until now.

“Hopefully this will be something our members can aspire to win and increase participation in our events, which is a goal myself and our committee members have worked massively hard to achieve.

“As for the trophy itself, I will certainly try to win it. Failing that I’ll look forward to presenting it to the player who does!”


Our Partners

  • Coca-Cola
  • FootJoy
  • Glenmuir
  • Golfbreaks
  • GreenClub
  • PING
  • St James's Place
  • Therabody
  • Titleist
  • The Belfry
  • Gleneagles